Captain Cook Cruises Top Jocks

  • Racing
  • By Damian Maclennan
  • 23 Apr 2018 11:52:02

Saturday saw the return of the Captain Cook Cruises Top Jocks Regatta for another year, bringing together Blue Water Pointscore race winners from 2017 to battle it out for the title of ‘Champion of Champions’.

The day started off with a briefing and boat draw to decide which of the Youth Sailing Academy’s identical Elliott 7’s teams would be sailing. The idea behind the race is that skippers and crews are on a level playing field and rely only on their own skills and knowledge.

Heading out to the race course the teams were greeted with a light 8 knot SE breeze which allowed  a race course to be setup in Rushcutters Bay.

The days racing consisted of six windward leeward races, all counting towards the team’s final scores.

This year saw multiple previous winners returning to battle it out to reclaim the title, including Tony Kirby of Patrice and Richard Williams of Calibre (Defending Champion).

Unfortunately, success eluded the returning winners… Andy Kearnan of Koa didn’t waste any time showing that he and his team were on a mission. After taking out the first race win, they continued to claim first or second place for the rest of the series.

Going in to the weekends racing Andy said, “I have been wanting to do the Top Jocks Regatta for some time. Its such a great leveller, same boat, same sails, delivering close competition and fun sailing.”

The tussle for first was not easily won with Tony Kirby sitting only 3 points behind going in to the final race and always close on the tail of Andy and his team. Koa was able to extend that lead to 5 points by the end of the series.

After racing Andy reflected on the days racing.

“The team worked really well together and our mechanics through manoeuvres and around the course were really tight. I think that was the difference today.”

“Tony Kirby and the Patrice team had really great depth and speed down wind and we were lucky to get away with the win.”

The Koa team consisted of Andy Kearnan, Warren Miller, Byron White and Eric Sparkes.

Full Results can be viewed at





  • PONANT Sydney Noumea Yacht Race underway! VIDEO HIGHLIGHTS

  • Rolex Sydney Hobart Yacht Race 2017 - Spirit of Yachting

  • CYCA Trophy Series Day 1 start


LATEST photos

  • Ladies Day Race 1

  • Captain Cook Cruises Top Jocks

  • Blue Water Pointscore Trophy Prize Giving