Race Facts

The Annual Land Rover Sydney Gold Coast Yacht Race starts on the last Saturday each July and is the first race of the CYCA's annual Blue Water Pointscore Series. 
The Land Rover Sydney Gold Coast Yacht Race, which began in 1986, has traditionally been the curtain opener for the winter northern racing circuit at Airlie Beach and Hamilton Island.

The Land Rover Sydney Gold Coast Yacht Race annually attracts top quality fleets of up to 80 including some of Australia's best known ocean racing yachts - Wild Oats XI, Wild Thing, Wild Oats X, Loki, Secret Mens Business 3.5, Ragamuffin, Balance and Brindabella.

Other well known yachts that have competed over the years include - Impeccable, Phillip's Foote Witchdoctor, More Witchcraft, Love & War and Spirit of Koomooloo.

After the start in Sydney Harbor the fleet turns left at North Head then passes the major ports of Newcastle, Port Stephens, Port Macquarie, Coffs Harbour, Cape Byron and on to Queensland's beautiful Gold Coast.  

Click here for more information on Southport Yacht Club, the finish club of the Land Rover Sydney Gold Coast Yacht Race.

Land Rover Sydney Gold Coast Yacht Race - Race Facts

Race record:


22 hours 03 minutes 43 seconds set in 2012

Record Holder:

Wild Oats XI

First Race:

First Winner:



Apollo (Line and Handicap Winner)


384 nautical miles


1300hrs last Saturday in July

Biggest Fleet:

1986 - 85 yachts